Informationen
Facebook Twitter Vimeo YouTube
Menü

About

On October 9, 1989, 70,000 brave citizens demonstrated for a peaceful and democratic realignment. The motto of the protesters – We are the people– expressed their needs and their will against the totalitarian regime of the German Democratic Republic. Since the Reunification in the fall of 1990, East and West German citizens live side by side in a peaceful and democratic state. The protests in various cities of Eastern Germany marked the milestone for the success of the democratic movement and process in the former GDR until the collapse of the regime.

Democracyas a form of government, however, does not pass unchallenged. Hence, the civil society is always called upon to continuously question and discuss parliamentary decisions in order to intervene against irreproducible decisions and to take part in maintaining a lively democracy. In particular,the new generation of youths and adolescents has a chance to voice their opinions and thoughts, to participate actively if they thoroughly consider their actual opinion, interest and what they stand for. But what exactly are my interests and opinions? Where can I get information from? Which forms of peaceful intervention exist, which cause do I want to support and which will be the possible consequences?

On the occasion of the Peaceful Revolution’s 20th anniversaryin 2009, the city of Leipzig arranged the 1st International Conference on Democracy under the patronage of the then President of the German Bundestag, Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert. At the Conference, youths and experts took stock of the goals achieved so far. The focus was primarily on transformational processes and the perspective of the future in Middle and Eastern Europe. In 2011 and 2013, the 2nd and 3rd International Conferences on Democracy took place, themed We are Democracy! Youth and Politicians enter the Discussion. 450 participants from the region and across Europe including 35 politicians discussed how to animate and support the political and social participation of young people with regards to their age.

The 4th International Conference on Democracy on September, 25 and 26, 2015 is again dedicated to the main topic of “We are Democracy! Youth and Politicians enter the Discussion”. We are therefore asking all interested youths to come to Leipzig once more. The projects that have regionally and internationally been put into life shall be an inspiration to develop further joint discussions and their own ideas. In the frame of the Conference we want to consider various perspectives: youthful, pedagogical, parental, political, and scientifical input shall be included. Politicians will be asked to join into direct discussion with the youths regarding their – that is: your! – ideas, opinions and claims.

Again in 2015, 450 young people from the Leipzig area and from all over Europe will be invited to “Haus Leipzig”. The city of Leipzig, the Hannah-Arendt-Institut für Totalitarismusforschung e.V. (Hannah-Arendt-Insitute on Totalitarism Research) at the Technical University of Dresden, the Regional Agency for Civic Education in Saxony (LBPB) as well as the Federal Agency for Civic Education (BPB) will act as cooperating partners for the planning, preparation and realization of the Conference. Further cooperating partners will support the Conference.

The topical focus of the Conference is based on the everyday life of young people, which encompasses the following: equality of opportunities and justice, cultural exchange, acceptance, tolerance and responsibility, the reasons of extreme attitudes, democratization of education, the relationship between own actions, ecological consequences and environmental policy, consequences resulting from the crisis in the EU and their impact on the coexistence and the development of democracy in Europe, hence the possibilities of online participation and social networks.

The precise topics of the workshops are as follows:

1. “How do we want to live – Our society is undergoing changes”

2. “Construction Site Democracy – Living and Dealing with Crises”

3. “The Power of the Digital World”

4. “Politics – Now, what’s this to me?”

5. “How organic am I after all?”

6. “Hope for a better life – Migration and Asylum”


Veranstalter in Zusammenarbeit mit



Förderer & Kooperationspartner

Informationen
Facebook Twitter Vimeo YouTube
Menü

Die Idee

Am 9. Oktober 1989 gingen in Leipzig 70.000 mutige Bürger_innen auf die Straße, um sich für eine friedliche demokratische Neuordnung auszusprechen. Mit dem Slogan „Wir sind das Volk!“ gaben sie ihrem Willen und Bedürfnissen gegenüber der totalitären DDR-Regierung Ausdruck. Seit der Wiedervereinigung im Herbst 1990 leben ost- und westdeutsche Bürger_innen wieder gemeinsam in einem friedlichen und demokratisch organisierten Staat. Die Proteste in vielen ostdeutschen Städten der Jahre zuvor legten den Grundstein für den Erfolg der Demokratiebewegung und den Demokratisierungsprozess in der DDR bis zum Zusammenbruch der Diktatur.

Die „Demokratie“ als Staatsform hat jedoch nicht unangefochten Bestand.  Die Zivilgesellschaft ist aufgerufen, Entscheidungen auf parlamentarischer Ebene kontinuierlich zu hinterfragen und zu diskutieren und gegen nicht nachvollziehbare oder noch anstehende Entscheidungen zu intervenieren – um so bewusst zum Erhalt einer lebendigen Demokratie beizutragen. Insbesondere die nachwachsende Generation, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene, hat die Chance, ihren Meinungen Gehör zu verschaffen, Position zu beziehen und aktiv zu werden. Aber was sind überhaupt meine eigenen Interessen und Meinungen? Und wo kann ich mich informieren? Welche Formen der friedlichen Intervention gibt es, für was konkret möchte ich mich einsetzen und was könnten mögliche Konsequenzen sein?

Anlässlich des 20. Jahrestages der Friedlichen Revolution im Jahr 2009 veranstaltete die Stadt Leipzig unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bundestagspräsidenten Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert die erste Internationale Demokratiekonferenz. Auf der Konferenz zogen Jugendliche und Expert_innen Bilanz des bisher Erreichten. Die Konferenz konzentrierte sich vor allem auf den Transformationsprozess und die Zukunftsperspektiven in Mittel- und Osteuropa. 2011 und 2013 folgten die 2. Internationale Demokratiekonferenz und 3. Internationale Demokratiekonferenz in Leipzig mit dem Leitthema „Wir sind Demokratie! Jugend und Politik im Dialog“. 450 Teilnehmer_innen – aus der Region und ganz Europa, darunter auch Politiker_innen – diskutierten in welcher Form und in welchem Alter die politische und gesellschaftliche Partizipation von jungen Menschen am besten angeregt und unterstützt werden könnte.

Die 4. Internationale Demokratiekonferenz am 25. und 25. September 2015 greift das Leitthema „Wir sind Demokratie! Jugend und Politik im Dialog“ erneut auf und lädt alle interessierten Jugendlichen wiederum nach Leipzig ein. Bereits realisierte Projekte – aus der Region und international – sollen inspirieren, es wird gemeinsam diskutiert, eigene Ideen können entwickelt werden. Dabei sollen zahlreiche Perspektiven – der Jugend, der Pädagogik, der Elternschaft, der Politik und der Wissenschaft – gleichberechtigt Berücksichtigung finden. Dabei sind die Politiker_innen gefragt. Sie werden im direkten Gespräch mit den Ideen, Meinungen und Forderungen der Jugendlichen – also euren Meinungen! – konfrontiert.

Auch 2015 sind ca. 400 junge Menschen aus der Region Leipzig und aus ganz Europa in das Haus Leipzig eingeladen. Die Stadt Leipzig, das Hannah-Arendt-Institut für Totalitarismusforschung e.V. an der TU Dresden, die Sächsische Landeszentrale sowie die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung wirken als Kooperationspartner bei der Planung, Vorbereitung und Durchführung der Konferenz zusammen. Zahlreiche weitere Kooperationspartner unterstützen die Konferenz.

Die thematischen Schwerpunkte der Konferenz orientieren sich an der Alltagswelt Jugendlicher – sie umfassen: Chancengleichheit und Gerechtigkeit; kulturellen Austausch, Akzeptanz, Toleranz und Verantwortung; die Ursachen extremer Einstellungen; Demokratisierung der Bildung; Zusammenhang von eigenem Handeln, ökologischen Folgen und Umweltpolitik; Auswirkungen der Krise in der EU auf das Zusammenleben und die Entwicklung der Demokratie in Europa und Möglichkeiten der Partizipation über Internet und soziale Netzwerke.

Im Konkreten wird es Workshops zu folgenden Themenbereichen geben geben:


Veranstalter in Zusammenarbeit mit



Förderer & Kooperationspartner